Digital Activities for Students…

Recently my district went Hybrid for a week. The teachers had afternoon Google Meet check-ins with students. The intention was not to teach any “new” information; in case any students couldn’t join in. I reached out to my fourth grade teachers to see if I could join all the students for an activity. I created an individual lock activity (embedded below) on Breakout EDU. I posted a poll at the beginning of the Meet to see if the majority wanted to work independently or in randomized breakout room groups through the Meet. They opted for working in groups. I set the lock to have 14 minutes, but the students flew through and opened the lock faster than I thought they would (average of 3-4 minutes). So thankfully I had another lock in my back pocket (also embedded below). This one was shared after a little debrief with the students back in the main Meet. I offered to stay on for a little while if anyone was struggling. [Note: for the sake of the blog post I’ve turned the timer off]

In case the following week was also Hybrid, I created another digital activity this time combining Nearpod & Tynker focusing on an activity which would utilize a digital version of our Pro-Bot robot taxis.

Check that one out below and I would love to read your thoughts about these activities in the comments below…

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *